Revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave him to show to his servants, even the things which must shortly come to pass.”

Prologue to Revelation – (Revelation 1:1-3 – The Prologue of the book of Revelation)

The Season is Here – (Revelation 1:1-3 – In Revelation, the “season of the end” began with the Death and Resurrection of Jesus)

Greetings from the Throne – (Revelation 1:4-8 – The salutation from the Throne to the seven churches of Asia highlights the book’s key themes)

Seven Beatitudes – Call to Action – (The seven beatitudes in the book provide the church with marching orders)

Ruler of the Kings of the Earth – (Revelation 1:4-6 – The present messianic reign of Jesus began following his death and resurrection)

The Lordly Day – (On Patmos, suddenly, John found himself “in the Spirit,” projected into the “Day of the Lord” – Revelation 1:9-10)

Tribulation, Kingdom, Endurance – (Exiled to Patmos, John is a “fellow-participant” with the suffering churches of Asia)

First Vision – Son of Man – (Revelation 1:9-20 – The first vision on Patmos – The Son of Man walks among Seven Lampstands)

Seven Letters – Introduction – (An overview of the letters to the Seven Churches of Asia)

The Church at Ephesus – (Revelation 2:1-7 – Ephesus is commended for rejecting false apostles but chastised for losing its “first love”)

The Church at Smyrna – (Revelation 2:8-11 – Ironically, Smyrna is promised more tribulation based on its past faithfulness in persecution)

The Church at Pergamos – (Revelation 2:12-17 – The church at Pergamos is corrected for tolerating the teachings of “Balaam”)

The Nicolaitans – (The “Nicolaitans” encouraged believers to compromise with the idolatrous rites of the surrounding pagan society, including its imperial cult)

The Church at Thyatira – (Revelation 2:18-29 – The prophetess “Jezebel” deceived many saints at Thyatira to accommodate idolatrous practices)

The Church at Sardis – (Revelation 3:1-6The church at Sardis received no commendation, only warnings, plus a summons to repent)

The Church at Philadelphia – (Revelation 3:7-13 – Like Smyrna, Philadelphia received no correction. She was faithful, and therefore, will be kept from the hour of trial)

Big Ben Clock in the Evening

The Hour of Trial – (Revelation 3:10 – Because of its faithfulness, Jesus will keep Philadelphia “from the hour of trial“)

The Church at Laodicea – (Revelation 3:14-22 – The church at Laodicea received no commendation, only correction)

The Beginning of the Creation of God – (Revelation 3:14 – Revelation looks to final victory in the New Creation inaugurated by Christ’s Death and Resurrection)


He that overcomes, I will give to him to sit down with me in my throne, as I also overcame, and sat down with my Father in his throne.”

The Messianic Reign in Revelation – (Jesus symbolized as the sacrificial Lamb began his reign upon his arrival at the Divine Throne)

Death and Exaltation of Jesus in Revelation – (The book links his present reign to his past Death and Resurrection, the immovable foundation of his kingdom)

Apocalyptic People of God – (Jesus by his death redeemed men and women from every nation for his kingdom of priests)

The Redemption of the Nations – (The nations of the earth are found in New Jerusalem because of Christ’s redemptive work)

Photo by Krivec Ales on

The Last Days in light of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus

My Prophetic Reflections

My own story, plus reactions to developments in the Church

Final Word

The Word of the Son, the Word made Flesh

Disciples Global Network

Studies for Disciples of Jesus Christ

Insights into Bible Prophecy

The Last Days in light of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus

%d bloggers like this: