Rev Chapters 4 – 11


Outline of the Second Division – (Revelation 4:1 – 16:21An outline of the second major literary division of the Book)

Lens photo from Pixel

I came to be in Spirit – (Four different times John found himself “in the Spirit” and in a new location where he received visions)

The Throne at the Center of The Cosmos – (Revelation 4:1-11The image of the glorious Throne places God and His rule at the center of the created order and prepares the reader for the introduction of the Lamb)

The Sealed Scroll– (Revelation 5:1-4John saw a scroll sealed shut with seven seals in the right hand of the One Who Sits on the Throne)

Worthy is the Lamb! – (Revelation 5:5-14The central figure of the book is the slain Lamb, who alone has the authority to open the Sealed Scroll)


Overview of the Seven Seals – (Upon his arrival before the Throne, the Lamb commences immediately to open the Seven Seals of the Sealed Scroll)

The First Seal – (The Lamb now breaks open the first seal, releasing a rider carrying a bow and riding a white horse)

The Second Seal – (Revelation 6:3-4The second rider is on a fiery-red horse sent to “remove peace from the earth” by causing men to “slay one another”)

The Third Seal – (Revelation 6:5-6The third seal releases a rider on a black horse. A voice from the Throne prohibits him from destroying what is needed for daily life)

The Fourth Seal – (Revelation 6:7-8The fourth seal releases a rider named “Death” who is followed by “Hades” gathering up the dead in his wake)

The Fifth Seal – Martyrs – (Revelation 6:9-11The souls of the Martyrs are seen underneath the “Altar”)

The Sixth Seal – Day of the Lord – (Revelation 6:12-17The sixth seal opening ushers in the Day of the Lord, the time of wrath upon the inhabitants of the earth – No one can stand before the Lamb or the Throne)

The Great Earthquake – (The final day of wrath is characterized by unprecedented celestial and terrestrial events, including the “great earthquake” – Revelation 6:12-17)

The Seal of God – (Revelation 7:1-3God’s servants are sealed before the “four winds of the earth” are unleashed by the four horsemen)

The Number of the Sealed Servants – (Revelation 7:4-8144,000 males from the tribes of Israel are numbered and assembled for transit to the Promised Land)

The Innumerable Multitude – The Vision – (Revelation 7:9-12John now sees an innumerable multitude from all nations standing before the Lamb and the Throne)

The Innumerable Multitude – Interpretation – (Revelation 7:13-17One of the “elders” interprets the vision of a vast multitude that “no man could number,” standing before the Throne)

The Seventh Seal – (Revelation 8:1-6The Seventh Seal, the transition to the series of Seven Trumpets)


An Overview of the Seven Trumpets – (Revelation 8:7-11:19An overview of the Seven Trumpets and the several intervening events)

The First Trumpet – (Revelation 8:7The first trumpet unleashes a plague based on the seventh plague of Egypt, but with modifications)

The Second Trumpet – (Revelation 8:8-9The second trumpet harms much of the commerce on which Babylon and the “inhabitants of the earth” depend)

The Third Trumpet – (Revelation 8:10-11The third trumpet produces a “great star” that falls onto the sources of freshwater, embittering them)

The Fourth Trumpet – (Revelation 8:12The fourth trumpet causes a partial darkening of the sun, moon, and the stars)

The Fifth Trumpet, the First Woe – (Revelation 8:13–9:12The Fifth Trumpet or First Woe:  Smoke ascending from the Abyss and a locust-like armu)

The Sixth Trumpet or Second Woe – (Revelation 9:13-21Despite the intensity of God’s plagues, the “inhabitants of the earth” refuse to repent)

The Little Scroll – (Revelation 10:1-11A mighty angel gives John a “little” but an opened scroll and commands him to eat it)

The Measured Sanctuary – (Revelation 11:1-2The sanctuary must be “measured” before the city can be inhabited, but first, it must be “trampled underfoot”)

The Two Witnesses – (Revelation 11:3-7The Two Witnesses must complete their testimony before the Beast is unleashed from the Abyss)

Seventh Trumpet, Third Woe – (Revelation 11:15-19The Seventh Trumpet sounds to usher in the Day of the Lord, the time of judgment)


The Tribulation of the Church – (In Revelation, faithful saints experience “tribulation,” whereas, the unrepentant undergo “wrath“)

Lamb or Beast? – (Humanity is divided into two groups – Those who follow the Lamb, and those who render homage to the Beast)

Absent Church in Revelation? – (Revelation 4:1-2Is the church removed from the earth during the Tribulation?)

Lamb and Messiah – (In the book of Revelation, Jesus began his Messianic Reign following his Death and Resurrection – Revelation 5:6-10)

The 144,000 of Revelation – (The 144,000 male servants sealed with the Seal of God)

The Abyss – (Revelation 11:7The Abyss is the source of satanic attacks against the people of God, yet it is under the authority of the Lamb)

Wrath of God in Revelation – (The Wrath of God refers to His final judicial sentence and is not synonymous with “tribulation”)

Photo by Johannes Plenio on

The Last Days in light of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus

My Prophetic Reflections

My own story, plus reactions to developments in the Church

Final Word

The Word of the Son, the Word made Flesh

Disciples Global Network

Studies for Disciples of Jesus Christ

Insights into Bible Prophecy

The Last Days in light of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus

%d bloggers like this: